Sunday, 30 December 2012

Taming the Wind

Back Cover

A young widow nursing the wounds of her past…
A cowboy with demons of his own…

Though grateful for the blessing of her daughter, Carissa Lowe has accepted that widowhood is her lot in life.  Bound by fear and mistrust, she feels incapable of opening her heart again.
Tyler Atherton has never forgotten Carissa.  When he discovers she’s living with her sister on a nearby ranch, his life becomes intertwined with the lovely widow’s.  And Carissa’s daughter, Gloria, seems determined to wrap herself around his little finger.  But while Tyler longs to provide a home and future for Carissa, he is haunted by an obligation he feels unable to fulfill.
Challenged by mounting hardships, can Carissa and Tyler preserve their fledgling love in a land as unforgiving and vibrant as the people who call it home?
Carissa Lowe had a disastrous first marriage.  Now, widowed with a headstrong child of her own (that reminds Carissa so much of when she was younger…), Carissa’s sole purpose in life is to be a good mother to her daughter, Gloria.  Marriage is far from her mind as she cannot deny the feelings of mistrust towards men that prevents her from getting close to any man.  Any man except Tyler Atherton, that is.
Tyler finds Carissa very perplexing.  At one moment she is warm and friendly towards him, and the next she gives him the cold shoulder.  On the other hand, there is no denying Gloria’s feelings towards him – and he relishes the precious moments with the toddler.  But it’s Carissa’s heart he wishes to win over more than anything.  Before he could even think of committing to someone, however, Tyler is determined to find the Indians who viciously killed his father, and exact his own revenge.
Taming the Wind was a great, well-written novel, and I would say it is the best of the trilogy.  It intertwines tales of war and sorrow and brings it all together with messages of hope, forgiveness, and love.  The romance was sweet and it was wonderful to see two people grow in their faith and learn to lean on God, and trust in His goodness. 
Postscript:  I had the privilege of reviewing the first two books in this trilogy (“Land of the Lone Star”), Chasing the Sun, and Touching the SkyTaming the Wind brings this trilogy to a very satisfying end.  While each book is stand-alone, I would definitely recommend reading the books in order, as the characters make recurring appearances throughout the trilogy. 

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

No comments:

Post a Comment