Monday, 14 July 2014

Life Behind the Wall

Back Cover

This epic tale extends across generations and unfolds against the backdrop of a dangerous Cold War Berlin.  This historically accurate, action-packed, three-books-in-one edition features three generations of resourceful teens living in the shadow of the Berlin Wall.

Candy Bombers:  In spring 1948, teenage cousins Erich and Katarina are simply trying to survive in war-ravaged Berlin when the Soviets blockade the east side of the city, isolating its citizens—and starving them—behind the Iron Curtain.

Beetle Bunker:  In August 1961, Sabine discovers a forgotten underground bunker.  Though she first uses it to escape her crowded home, she soon realizes her hideout could possibly take her family under the wall to West Berlin and freedom!

Smuggler’s Treasure:  In spring 1989, life is good in West Germany, and even the Cold War seems to be thawing in the warmer weather.  But as Liesl works on a class project about the history of the wall, she stumbles onto a startling secret no one will talk about.


Growing up, I read a lot of Robert Elmer’s books for young readers.  The “Young Underground” and “Adventures Down Under” were two of my favourite series.  They were fast-paced and always filled with exciting adventures and mysteries.  The perfect type of novels for a pre-teen with a vivid imagination!

While the “Life Behind the Wall” trilogy was just a smidgen less as thrilling as previous stories of Mr. Elmer’s, it otherwise made for a very good read.  Each story was as unique and fascinating as the characters.  Erich was a bit of a daredevil, Sabine had a lot of spunk, and Liesl’s stubbornness was admirable.  They were each incredibly likeable and I loved getting to know them.

In all, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this series to young readers – and even older ones looking for an easy, entertaining read.  

Thomas Nelson provided me a free copy of this book in exchange for my review which I freely give.

No comments:

Post a Comment